Marilyn's Musings

Wisdom from my heart to yours…

Welcome Back!

Welcome Back!

Coming back to America – able to see my family, friends, and special places.  What a welcome change.  It was time for me to come back – but it certainly did not make it any easier to leave my ‘home away from home’ in Taiwan, and all the friends I have there.

I have been asked by a friend here in America to continue to write as I did while I was gone.  My first thought was that I don’t have anything to write about here while I’m home.  But, I do.  So, just to invite you to my new blog where I’ll purpose to write once a month, at least, as I was doing while I was out of the country, and living in Taiwan.

Change – not always what we welcome, that’s for sure.  So much has changed since I lived here before.  I’m not sure who has changed most – or if per chance it has been change for all of us, even though in different ways.

Food – it is different here.  I miss buying food at the market – fresh fruits and vegetables, and good bread from Michael, the bread man.  I miss seeing those faces in the market.

Temperature – I had ice on the car two or three times already.  Haven’t had to deal with that in three years.  Actually, I haven’t had to deal with cars for three years – I walked.  I need to do that more – the walking part.

Clothes – well, the only change is in the number of layers I can wear here.  It has provided a lot of fun mixing and matching my outfits.  Pieces from my specialty stores (consignment stores and thrift stores), from Taiwan, and things I’ve had for years.  Mixing and matching accessories has been fun, too.  I’m enjoying that.

Communication – I’m thankful to be able to share with people here at a level that was not readily available in Taiwan.  I do know that I wanted to talk with so many people in Douliu – to ask them about their life’s story, to hear their heart.  I want them to know I missed being able to do that so that our relationships could even be deeper.

Work – still working, but in a different capacity.  My title is community service representative – I represent Home Instead Senior Care to the community.  This job has provided me with opportunities to meet people I would otherwise never have met.  I’m enjoying it.  It has even included some opportunities to teach – a passion that will be mine for as long as I’m able to share what I’ve  just learned.  I’m thankful for work.

Hope – that hasn’t changed.  Every year that I was in Taiwan, God gave me a word to study.  Last year (and I’m referring to school year calendar), my word was hope.  I haven’t been able to get another one yet, so I’m thinking there is still more I’m supposed to learn about hope.

Change – a lot has changed.  This list is just touching the surface.  But I don’t want to stop changing.  It goes along with hope.  There is too much to look forward to for me to stop changing.  I want to be different tomorrow than I am today, and I want it to be for the better.  Will you join with me in this venture called life – let’s keep changing, becoming more of the person we were designed to be.  We were created by the Master Designer, and He made us to be like Him – it says, “in His image”.  You are an incredible masterpiece.

And by the way, if you can tell me, I would enjoy hearing your story, to hear your heart, to see the changes you have gone through.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Welcome Back!

  1. Sally Sears Chappell Lathrop on said:

    I know that you are in the will of the Lord but none the less, I am thankful that you are safely back home. I believe that market shopping will gradually become an American trend with all the talk about GMO products. I have a little family market nearby that uses local farmers. We also have a brand new Farmers Market being built within a couple miles so I am very excited about that.

    I really enjoy hearing from you, about you Marilyn. I am happy to be able to continue to follow you.

  2. Janet Scott on said:

    My heart is happy to see Marilyn’s Musings. Thank you for sharing your heart and life!

  3. Juanita on said:

    Marilyn,
    So happy you will continue to write. Yes! It certainly is different each time we come home. Many mixed emotions, isn’t it?

    I arrived at Mom’s house Saturday, just 45 minutes before my brother arrived from Idaho. Mixed emotions there also, with it being the first time with mom now with Jesus.

    Had great speaking times and conference fir 2 weeks in Canada and LOVELY wedding in Ft. Myers for my son and new daughter in law.

    God bless you! Have a wonderful holiday season!!
    Fondly, Juanita

Leave a Reply

